recommendations

Readalike Recs: Your Favorite Fantasy Author Edition

capture-20190208-141508.png

Hello lovelies! How are you? I hope you’re having a wonderful week! I spend a lot of time googling things like “books like the tv-show Reign” or “books with writing style like Laini Taylor’s” trying to find more books to add to my massive TBR cause I’m like that, ok. I know we all get a little annoyed when see a book being compared to Harry Potter for 394th time that week, so maybe this is an unpopular opinion, but I think using comparison titles are a really fun and effective way to recommend books. I mean just tell me a book is like Clueless meets Charmed or that the cast is like the crew from Firefly – I’ll buy it. I fall for it every single time. So I thought I’d do my own little version and recommend some books based on who your favorite fantasy author is.

capture-20190120-231131.png

25203675.jpg

  • Laini Taylor is a lyrical writer who paints beautiful images with her words, Roshani Chokshi does the same thing in The Star-Touched Queen.
  • Laini Taylor’s books always have richly detailed and magical world-building. In The Star Touched Queen the protagonist travels to a magical kingdom full of magical creatures and other wonders.
  • Star-crossed lovers.

capture-20190123-205341.png

22295304.jpg

  • Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments and Shadowshaper are both Urban Fantasy books, set in New York City.
  • Teenage girls discovers a secret, magical world existing alongside our ordinary one and their own mysterious connections to it.
  • Sexy, mysterious boys.capture-20190123-205553.png

34323570.jpg

  • Sarah J. Maas’s world-building is often high fantasy with an urban twist. Her characters visit coffee shops and restaurants and live in town houses, the world-building in Furyborn gave me similar vibes.
  • All of Sara J. Maas’s books have a fierce female protagonist calling the shots, Furyborn has two.
  • Steamy romance! (But not as steamy as SJM…)

capture-20190123-210357.png

22055262.jpg

  • Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse has a complex and fascinating magical system, so does A Darker Shade of Magic.
  • All of Leigh Bardugo’s books are populated with morally grey, bad ass characters, so’s A Darker Shade of Magic.
  • Both Bardugo’s books and Darker Shade of Magic tales place in richly imagined, magical cities.capture-20190123-210724.png

29845906.jpg

  • Schwab’s books are full of badass anti-heroines. And anyone who loves Lila, from A Darker Shade of Magic, will love Nevernight’s vengeful assassin heroine,Mia.
  • Schwab’s fantasy worlds often have a darker, edgier feel – so her characters would feel right at home with Nevernight’s dark aesthetic.
  • Girls. With. Knives.

capture-20181230-004950

Have you ever bought a book because of a comparison? Did it live up to your expectations? Who’s your favorite fantasy author? Let me know and I’ll try to include them next time!
Advertisements

36 thoughts on “Readalike Recs: Your Favorite Fantasy Author Edition

  1. Oooh, I was on the fence about keeping Furyborn to my TBR, but I am SJM trash so with that comparison, I think it will have to stay! 😊

    And hmm, I adore Julie Kagawa’s books, so I would love to see a comparison rec for her!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your posts are so well thought out, I love reading them. I love Leigh Bardugo’s books and have been searching for something similar ever since I’m definitely going to read A Darker SHade of Magic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this list! The Taylor-Chokshi comparison is perfect and I don’t understand why Chokshi’s pre-Gilded Wolves books aren’t more hyped. But: do you think Furyborn is worth reading if Maas’ books aren’t my kind of thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you agree and YES, her books deserve more hype.

      I think Furyborn’s worth trying! I enjoyed it a lot more than Maas’s books and though there are similarities in the worlds and types of characters that make me think fans of one might enjoy the other – they’re definitley different stories with different vibes. I’d say Furyborn has similarities to DOSAB and The Grisha trilogy as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love these type of recommendation posts because it’s great to know what is similar without being the same as things I already like. I want to read more Leigh Bardugo and I haven’t read any Jay Kristoff or VE Schwab but they are both on my list already.

    I read The Language of Thorns by Bardugo last year and loved it so I’m looking forward to reading more of hers. I’m pleased you linked her to Schwab and then Schwab to Kristoff as I feel I’m on the right lines!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m always looking for books that are similar to my favorites (aka The Bear and the Nightingale).

      Bardugo, Schwab and Kristoff’s book all have a similar dark and edgy vibe to them. I hope you’ll love the latter two as much as The Language of Thorns!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a fun recommendation idea! Honestly, no matter how much times I see “books you should read if you love Harry Potter”, I still take the bait and click into it. Anyway, I love some things Leigh Bardugo has written, and I’ve been meaning to check out V.E. Schwab’s books, so this recommendation on your list might have bumped it up my TBR 😉 Fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely list! I have read one book by Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke and Bone) and two by Chokshi (The Gilded Wolves and The Star-Touched Queen) and I have to admit, if I liked the latter a bit more, I’m still curious to read more of Laini Taylor’s books, especially Strange The Dreamer 🙂 I also need to read more of Leigh Bardugo’s books, as I love V.E.SChwab so much! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oooh, I love this! I’m also always searching for comparison titles (which also usually means anything in the world that sounds like Laini Taylor haha). Added a few of these to my Goodreads, so thank you for that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s