Uncategorized

Hogwarts House Recommendations: Hufflepuff

capture-20180107-141106.jpg

Dedication – Hard Work – Fair play – Patience – Kindness – Tolerance – Loyalty

Hi! I spend a riddikulus amount of time sorting books and fictional characters into their Hogwarts houses. So why not put all that time to use and recommend ya’ll some books based on your Hogwarts house? We’re starting with Hufflepuff cause they’re the best. (And I’m in Slytherin, so that’s not bias – just an objective fact.)

capture-20180107-14191731931941-horz

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
Eliza Mirk is the creator of a wildly popular web-comic and spends most of her time online. But when Wallace, the most popular fan-fiction writer in her comic’s fandom transfers to her school they form a connection and Eliza learns that life offline has it’s perks. Eliza is incredibly dedicated to her art and works very hard to maintain the quality of her comic. One of the things I love about this book is that while it’s about embracing life offline, it also highlights how important and genuine online friendships can be, something we don’t often see in books.

Everything Leads To You by Nina LaCour
Emi’s dream is to become a set designer in Hollywood and she is more than willing to put in the hours and hard work required to turn her dream into reality. When she discovers a letter from a movie legend to his estranged daughter at an estate sale, she makes it her mission to make it’s finally delivered. This leads her to Ava, the actor’s granddaughter, and romance and adventures ensue. I love how passionate Emi is about her work, how much thought and feelings she puts into picking the perfect piece of furniture for a scene.

The Heartbeats of Wing Jones by Katherine Webber
When Wing’s brother ends up in a coma after a drunk driving accident her family struggles to pay for his medical bills, while also keeping their house. When Wing discovers an opportunity to help her family financially through her talent as a runner, she gives all she’s got to achieve her goal. Wing is hard-working, kind and fiercely loyal to her family. She won’t let anything distract her from what matters most to her.

capture-20180107-14221025322449-horz

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
If you’re into contemporaries and you haven’t read Alice Oseman  – fix that. Frances is a great student on the track to an elite university. But when she meets Aled Last, the boy behind her favorite podcast, she finally feels conformable showing someone who she really is. This such a beautiful and intense story about friendship and finding your own way. I think it’s really nice to see a book about a boy and a girl who meet and form a bond with zero romance. There’s also biracial, bisexual and demisexual rep.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K Johnston
tw: rape
Hermione is the captain of her cheerleading team and a talented athlete. She’s excited for her last summer at training camp, but then someone slips something in her drink at a party and rapes her. This book is about the aftermath of the assault. It was painful to read about Hermione’s experience, but this is such an important book. The relationship between Hermione and her best friend Polly is one of the most beautiful, supportive, fierce female friendships I’ve ever seen in a book. We need more friends like Polly in books.

Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney Stevens
Billie McCaffrey is a tomboy and a preacher’s daughter, she has five bestfriends and is a little bit in love with all of them; the boys and the girl. When the town’s Harvest Festival is in danger of being cancelled, Billie and her friends decide to save it. This book honestly couldn’t be more Hufflepuff if it tried. It’s all about the importance of friendship, hard work and tolerance – and I love it. It’s also perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

capture-20180107-14285728245707-horz

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
This contemporary about three bestfriends who finally get to go to the con of their dreams doesn’t have just one swoony romance, but two. One of them is friends to lovers – which I think is very Hufflepuff and the other is f/f(!!!) Since Hufflepuff if the most tolerant house they’ll also appreciate all the diversity in this book. It has bisexual, Asian, Asperger and anxiety rep.

To All the Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han
Lara Jean keeps all her love letters in the hatbox her mother gave her. They’re all letters she’s written, one for each boy she’s been in love with. When all her letters end up getting sent, Lara Jeans love life becomes complicated. So, first of all Lara Jean is a canon Hufflepuff. Second of all these are the sweetest contemporaries out there. Third of all there’s a lot of baking. Hufflepuffs like cake, right?

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore
Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town. This is one of the most magical books I’ve ever read and it has the softest friends to lover romance between a Latina girl and a Pakistani transgender boy. Anna-Marie McLemore’s writing is so beautiful and enchanting, I don’t know how she does it. 

So those are all my Hufflepuff recommandations. What house would you like to see recommendations for next?

16 thoughts on “Hogwarts House Recommendations: Hufflepuff

  1. YAS some well deserved Hufflepuf appreciation!! This is such a cool idea omg I’ve doubting whether to read Dress Code for Small Towns or not but now you’ve convinced me! I’d love to see what you do for Ravenclaw (I’m not biased pff it being my house has nothing to do with it…)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree on all the ones I’ve read – especially To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Dress Codes For Small Towns, they are some of the most Hufflepuff books ever. And I want to read Radio Silence and Queens of Geek; contemporary may not be my favorite genre, but I’ve heard so many good things about these two.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed, they’re the Hufflepuffest!

      They’re both very good, but they’re on complete opposite ends of the contemporary spectrum. Radio Silence is really intense and atmospheric and Queens of Geek is really lighthearted and fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s