#THEREADINGQUEST SIGN UP + TBR

Hello! Earlier this year I started a bookish twitter account so I could participate in a readathon. So I guess it’s appropriate that I’m now starting a bookish blog to go with it so I can partake in another one. This one is called #TheReadingQuest and is a video-game inspired readathon hosted by the lovely Aentee of readatmidnight. It starts on Sunday the 13th of August and ends on September 10th.

The idea is to chose a character class and read as many books as possible from the quest board. You can level up, earn points and participate in side quests. To learn how it works and to sign up go here!

All the amazing artwork in this post is by CW of Read, Think, Ponder

the-reading-quest-character-classes

My chosen character class is: The Rogue. But since I’m a bit of an overachiever I’ve obviously planned my tbr for all the different characters classes and side quests as well . So far this year my reading stats aren’t as diverse as I would like them to be. Since this seems like an excellent opportunity to amend that I’ve also decided to only read books by marginalised writers.

#TheReadingQuest Board.png

1. A banned book: I’ve decided to finally read The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I still haven’t read any of his novels, so this is way overdue.

2. A book with a partially obscured face on the cover: My copy of Saint and Misfits by S.K. Ali arrived just in time to make it on to my tbr and I can’t tell you how excited I am to finally read this.

3. A book with <500 rating on Goodreads: For this I’ve chosen a book by Dominican author Rita Indiana called La mucama de Omicunlé. It hasb’t been translated into English yet and as of now only has 81 ratings on Goodreads. (I’ll be reading a Norwegian translation.)

4. A book published by a small press: My pick for this one is Marriage of a Thousand Lies by SJ Sindu. It’s one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and the plot sounds absolutely fascinating. From the blurb: Lucky and her husband, Krishna, are gay. They present an illusion of marital bliss to their conservative Sri Lankan–American families, while each dates on the side.

5. A book with a one word title: I’m really excited to read Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor. I read Akata Witch by her earlier this year and absolutely adored it. I’ve heard these two are connected somehow and I’m very curious to see how.

12532265-horz

6. A book that contains magic: I’ll be reading The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. All I know is it’s got time travel and a pirate ship, and that is all I need to know.

7. A book based on mythology: This was one of the hardest ones for me to find a book for. I have several books inspired by myths – but they’re all western and I really wanted something different. Finally I found The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi which is a Hades and Persephone retelling set in India.

8. A book set in a different world: I’ve picked The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I read Flame in the Mist earlier this year and wasn’t that impressed – but I’m hoping this one will be better. It certainly sounds like a magical read.

9. The first book of a series: I’m FINALLY going to read Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I’ve really been enjoying dystopian books again lately and I already know she is a beautiful writer, so I’m very excited about this.

25950053-horz

10. A book with a verb in its title: I’ll be reading How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia
by Mohsin Hamid. He’s one of my favorite authors and I can’t wait to read another one of his books.

11. A book with a weapon on its cover: Another difficult one for me. Finally landed on a nonfiction book, The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America by Thomas King. It’s not a big weapon. But there’s a weapon there. I swear.

12. A book with a red cover: I’ve picked We the Animals by Justin Torres. I know very little about this one besides: it’s red and short.

13. A book that has a tv/movie adaption: The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan is one of those books that have been on my shelf for ages, even though I really want to read it. Recently I’ve heard some great things about the movie adaptions, so this seems like perfect timing!

20880316-horz

14. A fairy tale retelling: I’ve ordered Drown by Esther Dalseno specifically for this challenge, but I’m not sure it’ll arrive in time. It’s a dark retelling of the little mermaid and has one of the most stunning covers I’ve ever seen. If it doesn’t get here, I’ll be reading A Wild Swan: And Other Tales by Michael Cunningham.

15: A book cover with striking typography: Another one where I’m not completely sure what I’ll be reading, and the two books I’m considering couldn’t be more different. They are They Can’t Kill Us All: The Story of Black Lives Matter by Wesley Lowery and Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde.

16: A book translated from another language: I had so many options for this one it was impossible to decide. Then my mom surprised me with Princess Bari by Hwang Sok-yong. It’s a novel translated from Korean about a young woman who escapes from North Korea to London, with some magical elements as well.

26115647-horz.jpg

Potions – a book concocted by two or more authors: I had to borrow a book for this one and my friend recommended Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I’ve no idea what it’s about, so this could be interesting.

Time warp – a book set in the past or in the future: I’m going to read Human Acts
by Han Kang. It’s set in South Korea in the 1980s.

Expansion – read companion novel or short story: The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury is one of the best books I’ve read this year. So I’m very excited to revisit that magical world with The Jinni.

Multiplayer – buddy read a book: Unless I find someone else to buddy read with who’s actually doing the readathon, my plan is to read The Meursault Investigation by Kamel Daoud with Kev.

6998754-horz

Open world – read any book of your choice: As of now my plan for this one is A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. It’s a book I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about and that I’ve been meaning to get to for far too long. I’m also quite keen to read more of Rin Chupecos work, so The Girl from the Well is another likely option.

Mini game – read a graphic novel, poem collection or novella: I’ll be reading Heaven or This by Topaz Winters if I feel like reading poetry and Monstress, Vol. 1 by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda if I’d rather read a graphic novel.

Grind – read a book with 500+ pages: I’m late to the bandwagon here, but I’m going to read A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara It’ll probably be one of the first ones I get to, since there’s an overlap with the TomeTopple readathon – which is all about tackling those big books off your shelf.

Respawn – read a book you previously DNFed: I’ll be reading The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri. I DNF’d this last year because I just couldn’t get into it. I’m pretty sure it was just a timing issue and that I’ll really enjoy it once I give it another chance.

Animal companion – book referencing an animal in the title: I’ve chosen Hunger Makes the Wolf by Alex Wells, which is appropriate since a wolf would be my first choice for an animal companion. And you know, it’s a book about bikers in space. And it has witches. What more could you possibly want?

15811545-horz.jpg

It’s very possible that this tbr is made of equal parts extreme enthusiasm and unrealistic expectations, but I am hopeful and beyond excited to start reading! Wish me luck. And good luck to anyone else who is participating!

2 thoughts on “#THEREADINGQUEST SIGN UP + TBR

Leave a Reply

